Project Description

2019 CACE Convergence-logo

Du samedi 19 octobre 2019 au lundi 21 octobre 2019

La Fourche, située au confluent des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine, est un lieu de rencontre depuis plus de 6 000 ans. En 2019, les délégués à la conférence se réuniront, collaboreront et apprendront des communicateurs de partout au Canada.

Cette année, les communicateurs quitteront la conférence inspirés par les questions et les défis auxquels nous faisons face dans le domaine de l’éducation. Au moyen de présentations et de séances en petits groupes, nous espérons présenter des sujets axés sur la gestion des enjeux et de la réputation, les relations avec les médias, les communications numériques, l’équité et l’inclusion. Ce programme de conférences portera nos communications stratégiques à de nouveaux sommets.

Programme

Pour la conférence de 2019, nous passons à trois journées complètes. La conférence débutera le samedi matin et se terminera le lundi après-midi par la remise des prix BRAVO qui clôturera la conférence le lundi soir. Afin d’élargir notre expérience d’apprentissage, le programme de la conférence nous fera sortir de l’hôtel et nous fera découvrir les attractions locales. Chaque jour, le programme se déroulera dans un lieu différent. Pour s’adapter à ce nouveau format, un service de navette sera offert.

Pour vous aider à planifier votre voyage, voici le programme en un coup d’œil :

  • Vendredi 18 octobre : réception d’ouverture, à compter de 19 h.
  • Samedi 19 octobre : petit déjeuner et séances, de 8 h à 17 h.
  • Dimanche 20 octobre : petit déjeuner et séances, de 8 h à 17 h.
  • Lundi 21 octobre : petit-déjeuner et séances, de 8 h à 15 h, suivis du Gala annuel des prix BRAVO

 

En vedette

Donald Steel-headshotDonald Steel est un spécialiste de la gestion de la réputation et un intervenant et formateur international en communication de crise. Ancien porte-parole en chef des médias de la British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) basé à Londres, au Royaume-Uni, il travaille maintenant avec des particuliers, des entreprises et des gouvernements à travers le monde. Il est directeur associé des communications de crise chez Kenyon International Emergency Services, le plus important intervenant commercial au monde en cas d’incidents impliquant un grand nombre de morts ou de blessés, et directeur associé chez Johnston Associates, la principale société de relations publiques du secteur de l’aviation basée à Londres Heathrow. Il est membre de la Royal Society of Arts et du Chartered Institute of Public Relations et a été le premier membre associé de la BBC Academy. Il est régulièrement invité à donner des conférences à la London School of Economics et au China Media Centre de l’Université de Westminster.

Discours principal et laboratoire d’action :

Donald examinera les dernières tendances en matière de communication de crise et se demandera si nous sommes vraiment prêts, à l’ère de l’omniprésence du téléphone à caméra, car le comportement des citoyens change rapidement lorsqu’une urgence survient. Dans l’atelier hautement interactif, où les délégués travailleront en équipe, ils seront invités à s’engager dans une crise fictive, mais très grave, pour un établissement d’enseignement. Au fur et à mesure que la crise se développe, les participants à la conférence seront invités à prendre des décisions en matière de communication et à donner des entrevues aux médias, ce qui donnera lieu à une conférence de presse potentiellement spectaculaire. Le format de l’atelier est couramment bien coté par les délégués, tant pour les résultats d’apprentissage que pour le style participatif et engageant.

 

Lee Airton

Dr Lee Airton est professeur adjoint d’études sur le genre et la sexualité en éducation à l’Université Queen’s de Kingston, en Ontario. En 2012, Dr Airton a fondé They Is My Pronoun, un blog basé sur Q+A sur l’utilisation de pronoms non sexistes et le support aux utilisateurs avec plus de 30 000 visiteurs uniques en 2017 seulement. Dr Airton a également fondé la No Big Deal Campaign, une initiative nationale de médias sociaux qui aide les gens à manifester leur appui au droit des transgenres à ce que leurs pronoms soient utilisés. Le premier livre du Dr Airton, Gender – Your Guide : Un guide d’introduction sexospécifique sur ce qu’il faut savoir, ce qu’il faut dire et ce qu’il faut faire dans la nouvelle culture du genre propose des mesures pratiques pour accueillir la diversité des genres dans tous les domaines de la vie quotidienne. En tant que formateur universitaire depuis plus de dix ans, Dr Airton a travaillé avec des centaines de candidats à l’enseignement pour élargir le cercle d’appartenance et de participation des élèves de tous les sexes et de toutes les orientations sexuelles. Dans le cadre de sa recherche financée par le CRSH, Dr Airton examine comment les écoles de la maternelle à la 12e année de l’Ontario réagissent à l’inclusion de la protection de l’identité et de l’expression sexuelles dans la législation sur les droits de la personne, notamment en ce qui concerne la formation des enseignants.

 

Rhéanne Marcoux

Le sport des médias numériques : créer un contenu avec objectif

Dans un monde où toute personne possédant un téléphone cellulaire peut créer du contenu et devenir un «expert» instantané en la matière via les plates-formes de médias sociaux, il est plus important que jamais de créer un contenu qui évite le fouillis et capte votre public. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir une équipe de créateurs et de l’équipement coûteux pour créer un contenu convaincant: les clés sont la connaissance de son public, la création d’un lien émotionnel et la mise en place d’une stratégie pour partager votre contenu. Dans cet atelier d’une heure, nous allons élaborer un profil de consommateur, les clés d’une création de contenu réussi et développer une campagne visant à promouvoir le contenu.

Carla Headshot--cropped

Carla Pereira, APR

 

Merci à nos sponsors du congrès 2019 :

scholantis-logo-redbg

box clever logo

WEST_LOGO_CMYK

 

Renseignements sur les hôtels

We have secured group rates at two premiere hotel locations. The main accommodations for the 2019 CACE Conference will be Inn at The Forks with their sibling-hotel t

Nous avons obtenu des tarifs de groupe dans deux hôtels de premier ordre.

Nous avons obtenu des tarifs de groupe dans deux hôtels de premier ordre. L’hébergement principal de la Conférence 2019 de l’ACACE sera Inn at The Forks, et l’hôtel affilié, The Mere Hotel, qui fournira des chambres supplémentaires. Les places sont limitées.

Inn at The Forks

75 Forks Market Rd, Winnipeg, MB R3C 0A2
1-877-377-4100 | 204-942-6555

Le tarif spécial de l’ACACE est de 209 $ par nuit (plus taxes applicables), en occupation simple ou double.

Si vous avez des questions ou éprouvez de la difficulté à faire une réservation, appelez le service des réservations de l’hôtel au 1-877-377-4100.

Hôtel Mere
333, promenade Waterfront, Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3B 0V1
1-855-799-1109 | 204-594-0333

Le tarif spécial de l’ACACE est de 189 $ par nuit (plus taxes applicables), en occupation simple ou double.

*cet emplacement est à environ 10 minutes à pied du Inn at The Forks.

RÉSERVEZ MAINTENANT

Si vous avez des questions ou éprouvez de la difficulté à faire une réservation, appelez le service des réservations de l’hôtel au 1-855-799-1109.

Les tarifs de groupe sont disponibles jusqu’au mardi 17 septembre 2019 ou jusqu’à ce que le bloc soit complet. Les réservations faites après que le bloc de chambres de l’ACACE soit complet ou après la date limite seront basées sur la disponibilité et au tarif en vigueur. Le Wi-Fi gratuit est disponible dans les chambres d’hôtes et les espaces sociaux tels que les halls d’entrée et les restaurants.

PROMO CODE : Réservez votre vol avec Air Canada et économisez 10 %.

Pour réserver un vol avec votre code promotionnel, accédez à aircanada.com et entrez le code promotionnel « JWMPRZN1 » dans le panneau de recherche. Un nombre limité de places est disponible sous ce code promotionnel. Premier arrivé, premier servi. Le code promotionnel ne peut être utilisé que pour les voyages aller-retour à Winnipeg, au Manitoba et à la destination de retour.

Dîner de remise des prix BRAVO

museums.img-370.canadian-museum-for-human-rights

L’ACACÉ reconnaît et honore le travail exemplaire dans tous les aspects des relations publiques, des communications, du marketing et de l’engagement de l’école par l’entremise du programme national des prix BRAVO.

Joignez-vous à nous pour une soirée de reconnaissance lors du dîner de remise des prix BRAVO de cette année, le lundi 21 octobre 2019.

Que faire pendant votre séjour à Winnipeg ?

Winnipeg est une ville extraordinaire située dans les Prairies canadiennes, au carrefour d’anciennes routes de canotage nord-américaines. Songez à vous attarder un moment pour découvrir le riche patrimoine multiculturel, le paysage des Prairies et des attraits éducatifs uniques comme le Musée canadien des droits de la personne, le seul musée au monde qui explore les droits de la personne comme concept et comme aspiration, et la Winnipeg Art Gallery, qui possède la plus grande collection d’art Inuit au monde.

Project Description

2019 CACE Convergence-logo

 

Saturday, October 19 to Monday, October 21, 2019

The Forks, located at the junction of the Red and Assiniboine rivers, has been a meeting place for over 6,000 years. In 2019, conference delegates will meet, collaborate, and learn from school communicators across Canada.

This year’s conference will have communicators leaving inspired through issues and challenges that we deal with in education. Through keynote presentations and breakout sessions, we hope to deliver topics focused on issues/reputation management, media relations, digital communications, and equity and inclusion. This conference line-up will take our strategic communications to new heights.

Program

For the 2019 conference, we are changing the format to three full days. The conference will begin on Saturday morning and conclude Monday afternoon with the BRAVO Awards capping off the conference on Monday night. To broaden our learning experience, the conference program will take us out of the hotel and into local attractions. Each day, the program will be held at a different venue. As we approach the conference, we will be constantly updating the conference website with new program announcements and information.

To help you plan your travel, here’s the program at a glance:

  • Friday, October 18: opening reception, starting at 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 19: conference program from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Sunday, October 20: conference program from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Monday, October 21: conference program, from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m., followed by the annual BRAVO Awards Gala
    *these times may adjust as the conference program is finalized

(Hotel information and Air Canada promo code below)

Speakers

Donald Steel-headshotDonald Steel is a specialist in reputation management and an international responder and trainer in crisis communications. Formerly the British Broadcasting Corporation’s (BBC) chief media spokesman based in London, UK, he now works with individual, corporate and government clients across the world. He is an Associate Director of Crisis Communications at Kenyon International Emergency Services, the world’s leading commercial responder to incidents involving mass fatality or injury, and an Associate Director at Johnston Associates, the leading aviation PR company based at London Heathrow. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations and was the first Associate Fellow of the BBC Academy. He is a regular guest lecturer at the London School of Economics and at the China Media Centre of the University of Westminster.

Keynote and Action Lab:
Donald will explore the latest trends in crisis communications and explore whether we are truly ready in the age of the ubiquitous camera phone, as citizen behaviour is rapidly changing when an emergency occurs. In the highly interactive workshop, working in teams, delegates will be invited to engage with a fictitious but very serious, crisis for an educational institution. As the crisis develops, conference attendees will be invited to make communications decisions and give media interviews, culminating in a potentially dramatic press conference. The workshop format is routinely highly rated by delegates for both learning outcomes and the participative and engaging style.

 

Lee Airton

Dr. Lee Airton is an Assistant Professor of Gender and Sexuality Studies in Education at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. In 2012, they founded They Is My Pronoun, a Q+A-based blog about gender-neutral pronoun usage and user support with over 30,000 unique visitors in 2017 alone. Dr. Airton is also the founder of the No Big Deal Campaign, a national social media initiative that helps people show support for transgender peoples’ right to have their pronouns used. Dr. Airton’s first book, Gender – Your Guide: A Gender-Friendly Primer on What to Know, What to Say and What to Do in the New Gender Culture offers practical steps for welcoming gender diversity in all areas of everyday life. As a university-based teacher educator for over ten years, Dr. Airton has worked with hundreds of teacher candidates to widen the circle of belonging and participation for students of all genders and sexualities. Dr. Airton’s current SSHRC-funded research explores how Ontario K-12 schools are responding to the inclusion of gender identity and gender expression protections in human rights legislation, including implications for teacher education.

Action Lab: You are welcome here: Gender-friendly communications in education

Gender is changing, and much of this change makes landfall in everyday communications, whether learning to use unfamiliar words or re-purposing words that have always been with us. For educational institutions, required to offer an environment that welcomes gender diversity, it can be challenging to translate current events and concepts into actions that impact gender-diverse students, families and community members. Drawing on their recent book, Gender: Your Guide, Dr. Airton demystifies gender diversity, offering a rationale for ‘gender-friendly’ communications in education, as well as practical suggestions that can be implemented right away.

 

Carla Headshot--cropped

Carla Pereira, APR, is the director of communications and community relations for the Peel District School Board, Canada’s second largest school board. Since joining the board in 2003, Carla has worked closely with individuals in senior roles, including members of the Director’s Office, the senior leadership team and the board of trustees. In this capacity, she has provided strategic counsel on issues ranging from straightforward to sensitive and complex, with high legal implications.

She is candid and reliable, providing timely and informed advice, but most importantly, she is always student-focused. Carla is comfortable leading and has experience problem-solving and working with trustees, and board and school leaders to resolve complex situations, including labour disruption and challenging media issues.

Action Lab: Managing Crises with an Equity Mindset

Incorporating equity and inclusion in our work is no longer an option—it is critical to success in managing crises. An equity mindset is essential as we navigate contentious issues and work towards resolutions that work for all. In this two-hour session, action lab participants will learn to identify equity impacts during crises, who to activate as community advocates, and will have the opportunity to work through crisis case studies and develop issues management strategies and communications plans that restore and maintain relationships with diverse stakeholders.

Registration

Conference Fees – Early bird registration opens on April 1, 2019.

Early bird rate for members: $649 *Offer ends June 28, 2019
Member rates after June 28, 2019: $799
Non-member registration rate: $999
Group rate for 3 members: $1,947 (additional members are $649)
Group rate for 3 non-members: $2,697
One-day registration rate: $399

Visit our Registration Page and become a CACE-ACACE Member 

The full registration fees include conference program, lunch vouchers, and one ticket for the BRAVO Awards. Taxes will be added to all CACE conference fees to comply with Canada Revenue Agency guidelines. Tax will be charged from the province that the conference is held. In order to ensure clear communications, CACE has a conference refund policy.

Hotel Information

We have secured group rates at two premiere hotel locations. The main accommodations for the 2019 CACE Conference will be Inn at The Forks with their sibling-hotel the Mere providing additional rooms. Limited space is available.

Inn at The Forks

75 Forks Market Rd, Winnipeg, MB R3C 0A2
1-877-377-4100 | 204-942-6555

RESERVE ONLINE NOW

CACE’S special rate is $209 per night (plus applicable tax), single or double occupancy. If you have questions or experiencing difficulty making a reservation, call the hotel’s reservations department at 1-877-377-4100, access our Group Rate by quoting Reservation #373091.

Mere Hotel

333 Waterfront Dr, Winnipeg, MB R3B 0V1
1-855-799-1109 | 204-594-0333

RESERVE ONLINE NOW

CACE’S special rate is $189 per night (plus applicable tax), single or double occupancy. If you have questions or experiencing difficulty making a reservation, call the hotel’s reservations department at 1-855-799-1109, access our Group Rate by quoting Reservation #373091. *this location is approx. a 10-minute walk from Inn at The Forks.

The group rates are available until Tuesday, September 17, 2019, or until the block is filled. Reservations made after CACE’s room block is filled or after the cut-off date will be based on availability and at the prevailing rate. Free Wi-Fi is available in guestrooms and social spaces such as lobbies and restaurants.

Fly with Air Canada

PROMO CODE: Book your flight with Air Canada and save 10%

To book a flight with your promotion code, access aircanada.com and enter promotion code “JWMPRZN1” in the search panel. A limited number of seats are available under this promotion code. First come, first serve. The promotional code can only be used for travel to Winnipeg, MB and return destination.

BRAVO Awards Dinner

museums.img-370.canadian-museum-for-human-rights

CACE recognizes and honours exemplary work in all aspects of school public relations, communications, marketing, and engagement through the national BRAVO Awards Program. Join us for an evening of recognition at this year’s BRAVO Awards Dinner on Monday, October 21, 2019.

This year’s BRAVO Awards Gala will conclude the conference with a major celebration–hosted at the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The evening will include: one-hour guided tours, reception, plated dinner, awards celebration, and live entertainment. Your conference registration will include your ticket to the BRAVO Awards Gala.

More details to come…

Thank you to our 2019
conference sponsors:

scholantis-logo-redbg

box clever logo

WEST_LOGO_CMYK